plant monday – double-flowered bloodroot

Plant of the week –
Common Name: double-flowered bloodroot
Botanical Name: sanguinaria canadensis ‘multiplex’ , flore plena

After this plant was mentioned on my ‘past plants’ page I decided to look up Bloodroot. WOW is all I can say. I am in love with the double-flowered variety and would like to find roots somewhere to plant in my garden.
Here is what I was able to find out about double-flowered Bloodroot –
The bloodroot gets its common name from the bright red sap that bleeds from the broken rhizomes which I find very interesting. Its Latin name implies that it comes from Canada, but its home stretches far south in eastern North America so even though this plant looks tropical (to me, anyway) it is very cold hardy. The flowers of this kind last much longer than its single-flowered cousin and in the spring they give you dramatically beautiful, white blooms in the shade garden, typically planted in a woodland setting. The blooms open before the leaves giving it the appearance of a waterlily sitting atop the soil. Bloodroots are a lovely addition to any shade garden, but  the double-flowering type is sterile and since it does not set seed it must be propagated by rhizome division.

Description – perennial
Hardiness Zone – 3-9
Exposure – full to part shade
Mature Height – 8″
Bloom Time – spring
Bloom Colour – white
Scent – none, that I know of


photo credit – Ellis Hollow, remarc.com

8 thoughts on “plant monday – double-flowered bloodroot

  1. As a child my father had the single petal version growing in the shade garden off our patio. I remember the anticipation of waiting for it to grow for it meant spring was here to stay. Beautiful photo! Is this growing n your garden?

  2. Oh, I stand and stare all dreamy-eyed at the blood-root patch in Brooklyn Botanic Gardens ever year….just adore these flowers. I didn’t know there was a double variety! Rhizome division – easier than planting seeds in my book! Are you going to give them a try?

    By the way, I nominated you for a little blog award thing that is circulating…details about it are in my latest post. You can do (or not do) what you like with it, I just wanted to try and throw you some more traffic because I’ve been loving your blog and hope to encourage others to check it out.

    • Thank you, Aimee ! Another blogger nominated me and I forgot to go looking to see what this award thing is. I really appreciate that people like my little blog. Thanks again. Makes me happy.

Leave your comments

