bulbs

Getting out in the garden on crisp, sunny fall days to plant bulbs is one of the most enjoyable gardening tasks before the weather goes seriously south. I went a little crazy planting fall bulbs in my front gardens over the last two weeks. It will be exciting to see the crocus poke through towards the end of winter and knowing spring will be just around the corner. I can’t wait!

What I have planted –

14 asiatic lilies
40 mini tulips
22 double tulips
30 puschkinia libanotica
20 crocus
10 double narcissi
10 forbesii alba
3 ivory queen alliums

I also planted three peony roots – springfield, monsieur jules elie, and celebrity. These should look wonderful in my spring display beside two rhodies, surrounded by all but four of the lilies. That bed also has the alliums and a few of the double tulips. I’m hoping for an amazing display.. in both gardens!

Leave your comments

